Ellis Peters

Ellis PetersFollow Ellis Peters

Ellis Peters is a pseudonym of Edith Mary Pargeter (1913–1995), a British author whose Chronicles of Brother Cadfael are credited with popularizing the historical mystery. Cadfael, a Welsh Benedictine monk living at Shrewsbury Abbey in the first half of the twelfth century, has been described as combining the curious mind of a scientist with the bravery of a knight-errant. The character has been adapted for television, and the books drew international attention to Shrewsbury and its history. Pargeter won an Edgar Award in 1963 for Death and the Joyful Woman, and in 1993 she won the Cartier Diamond Dagger, an annual award given by the Crime Writers’ Association of Great Britain. She was appointed officer of the Order of the British Empire in 1994, and in 1999 the British Crime Writers’ Association established the Ellis Peters Historical Dagger award, later called the Ellis Peters Historical Award.

Books By Ellis Peters (45 Books)


12 Enchanting Ellis Peters Books for Every Kind of Mystery Fan
ellis peters
Ellis Peters: Beloved Creator of “Brother Cadfael”
british mystery series
14 Charming British Mystery Shows for Your Binge-Watching Pleasure
covers from lord peter wimsey cozy mysteries
11 Cozy Mysteries for Armchair Detectives
mystery books series
10 Mystery Book Series to Dive Into Right Now
seaside mysteries
Get Swept Away: 9 Thrilling Seaside Mysteries
11 Medieval Mysteries That Will Immerse You in the Past
perplexing puzzle mysteries
11 Puzzle Mysteries That Will Positively Perplex You
best mystery shows on netflix perfume
The Best Mystery Shows Streaming on Netflix Right Now
16 Award-Winning Mystery Books You Need to Read