John Bellairs

John BellairsFollow John Bellairs

John Bellairs is beloved as a master of Gothic young adult novels and fantasies. His series about the adventures of Lewis Barnavelt and his uncle Jonathan, which includes The House with a Clock in Its Walls, is a classic. He also wrote a series of novels featuring the character Johnny Dixon. Among the titles in that series are The Curse of the Blue Figurine; The Mummy, the Will, and the Crypt; and The Spell of the Sorcerer’s Skull. His stand-alone novel The Face in the Frost is also regarded as a fantasy classic, and among his earlier works are St. Fidgeta and Other Parodies and The Pedant and the Shuffly. Bellairs was a prolific writer, publishing more than a dozen novels before his untimely death in 1991.

Books By John Bellairs (15 Books)


14 John Bellairs Books for Fans of Fantastical Mysteries
10 Fantasy Books That’ll Give You Chills
books like Stranger Things
7 Books Like Stranger Things to Turn Your World Upside Down
enola holmes
8 Books for Fans of Enola Holmes Mysteries
books like Lord of the Rings
10 Adventure-Filled Books Like Lord of the Rings to Explore
dark fantasy books
16 Dark Fantasy Books You Won't Be Able to Put Down
fantasy series
36 Must-Read Fantasy Book Series
12 Dystopian Series You Haven't Read But Should
Joe Hill books
What to Read Next If You Love Joe Hill Books
books like The Magicians
18 Enchanting Books Like The Magicians