Blunt Force Magic


Published by WildBlue Press
An out of practice wizard-turned-courier must save a young witch—and the world—in this urban fantasy mystery for fans of Jim Butcher and Benedict Jacka.

Five years removed from a life as an apprentice to a group of heroes who battled supernatural evils, the once-promising student Janzen Robinson has become a package courier. He now works the daily grind, passing time at a hole-in-the-wall bar and living in a tiny, run-down apartment on the south side of Cleveland, Ohio.

Then from the ancient recesses of unyielding darkness known as the Abyss, a creature has been summoned: a Stalker, a predator whose real name must never be spoken. It’s a bastardization of the natural order, a formidable blend of dark magic and primal tenacity. Its mission? To end the life of a fiery, emerging young witch.

Thrust into the role of protector, a position once reserved for those he’d lost years ago, the out-of-practice “Artificer” is forced to confront his painful past while facing an unstoppable monster hell-bent on destruction. Janzen must keep one step ahead of the beast as he journeys through Cleveland’s magical underbelly to uncover why it’s been brought to our world. He will need to rely on old friends, a quiet stranger, and his own questionable wits to reach the other side of this nightmare—that just might cost him his life and, quite possibly, the world itself.

“A modern fantasy with a touch of noir, a dash of detective thriller, and a sprinkling of humor throughout.”—Steve Jackson, New York Times–bestselling author of Monster

Good Reads

COMMUNITY REVIEWS