Octavia E. Butler

Octavia E. ButlerFollow Octavia E. Butler

Octavia E. Butler (1947–2006) was a bestselling and award-winning author, considered one of the best science fiction writers of her generation. She received both the Hugo and Nebula awards, and in 1995 became the first author of science fiction to receive a MacArthur Fellowship. She was also awarded the prestigious PEN Lifetime Achievement Award in 2000. Her first novel, Patternmaster (1976), was praised both for its imaginative vision and for Butler’s powerful prose, and spawned four prequels, beginning with Mind of My Mind (1977) and finishing with Clay’s Ark (1984). Although the Patternist series established Butler among the science fiction elite, it was Kindred (1979), a story of a black woman who travels back in time to the antebellum South, that brought her mainstream success. In 1985, Butler won Nebula and Hugo awards for the novella “Bloodchild,” and in 1987 she published Dawn, the first novel of the Xenogenesis trilogy, about a race of aliens who visit earth to save humanity from itself. Fledgling (2005) was Butler’s final novel. She died at her home in 2006.

Books By Octavia E. Butler (14 Books)


15 Fascinating Facts About Octavia Butler
Octavia Butler books
16 Octavia Butler Books: The Complete Canon
10 Octavia Butler Quotes to Live By
Octavia Butler cover art
Truth Is Change: The Evolution of Octavia Butler's Cover Art 
Octavia Butler Luminescent Threads feature
The Patterns Around Octavia Butler
Toshi Reagon on Adapting Parable of the Sower for the Stage and the Urgency of Butler's Work
science fiction authors
Samuel R. Delany and Others on Octavia E. Butler's Legacy
parable of the Sower opera feature
Triumphant Musical Adaptation Shows the Power of Butler's Parable of the Sower
Read an Excerpt from Dawn, the First Book in the Lilith's Brood Series
Octavia Butler Dawn
Octavia Butler’s Wild Seed to Be Adapted for the Small Screen