May Sarton

May SartonFollow May Sarton

May Sarton (1912–1995) was born on May 3 in Wondelgem, Belgium, and grew up in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Her first volume of poetry, Encounters in April, was published in 1937 and her first novel, The Single Hound, in 1938. Her novels A Shower of Summer Days, The Birth of a Grandfather, and Faithful Are the Wounds, as well as her poetry collection In Time Like Air, all received nominations for the National Book Award.An accomplished memoirist, Sarton came out as a lesbian in her 1965 book Mrs. Stevens Hears the Mermaids Singing. Her memoir Journal of a Solitude (1973) was an account of her experiences as a female artist. Sarton spent her later years in York, Maine, living and writing by the sea. In her last memoir, Endgame: A Journal of the Seventy-Ninth Year (1992), she shares her own personal thoughts on getting older. Her final poetry collection, Coming into Eighty, was published in 1994. Sarton died on July 16, 1995, in York, Maine.

Books By May Sarton (48 Books)


may sarton books
May Sarton’s Greatest Works: 12 Books That Will Move You
cheap books online june 2020
The Best Cheap Books You Can Get Online in June 2020
13 Classic LGBTQ Novels to Celebrate Pride Month
9 Romantically Enlightening Books like Call Me By Your Name
books like the alchemist
11 Inspirational Books Like The Alchemist