Pamela Sargent

Pamela SargentFollow Pamela Sargent

Pamela Sargent has won the Nebula and Locus Awards and was honored in 2012 with the Science Fiction Research Association’s Pilgrim Award, given for lifetime contributions to science fiction and fantasy scholarship. Her many novels include Venus of Dreams, The Shore of Women, The Golden Space, The Sudden Star, and The Alien Upstairs.
About Ruler of the Sky, Sargent’s historical novel of Genghis Khan, told largely from the points of view of women, Elizabeth Marshall Thomas has commented: “Scholarly without ever seeming pedantic, the book is fascinating from cover to cover and does admirable justice to a man who might very well be called history’s single most important character.” The Washington Post has called Sargent “one of the genre’s best writers,” and Michael Moorcock has said of her work: “If you have not read Pamela Sargent, then you should make it your business to do so at once. She is in many ways a pioneer, both as a novelist and as a short story writer. . . . She is one of the best.”
Sargent is the editor of the Women of Wonder anthologies, the first collections of science fiction by women. Her novel Climb the Wind, set in the United States after the Civil War, was a finalist for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History, and her novel Earthseed has been optioned by Paramount Pictures. Melissa Rosenberg, the scriptwriter for all five Twilight films, is set to write and produce the movie through her company Tall Girls Productions.

Books By Pamela Sargent (21 Books)


Read This Series If You Love Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars Trilogy
16 Impactful Female Science Fiction and Fantasy Authors
female sci-fi fantasy writers
20 Impactful Female Science Fiction and Fantasy Authors
feminist sff
Feminism Through the Ages: 11 Powerful Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books
scifi fantasy books adaptations
10 Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books That Need Adaptations
Big Brother Is Watching: 16 Unsettling Dystopian Books Like 1984